Single Hand vs Switch/Spey on Erie Tribs

JWsmalls

JWsmalls

I'm new to steelheading. As far as rods are concerned, I know that two handed rods are the tool of choice. Is there as big of a necessity for them on the Erie Tribs (what I will mostly be fishing) or will my 9' 8wt be sufficient? Should I get a switch and take both?

The rod of fad, not nearly the rod of choice. At the Salmon River in the lower section of stream entering into the estuary, it might be fun if you can find room.

I think a two hander is way too much for all of the erie tribs in pa. I also think a switch is too much but I know plenty of people will disagree. For med to small great lakes tribs (erie's pa tribs), a 10' 7 wt will allow you to do nymph and swing with ease. If you are a decent caster, you won't need more. Your 9' 8wt will also work fine.

Most guys with double hand and switch rods on the sr are clueless and just get in the way. It's way too crowded in most spots and again if you are a decent caster, a single hand rod gives you more than enough range.

If you don't want to buy a new rod, what you have is fine. If you do, I'd go with a 10' 7wt singlehand rod.

I can think of one erie trib in ny, and one big river between erie and Ontario where a double hander gives you a legitimate advantage. Other than that I think it's a fad and on crowded streams most switch/double hand guys are using the longer rod to compensate for their poor casting skills. I think it's inconsiderate to use rods this large on crowded areas.

Thanks for the info guys.

I'm going to be using an SA Mastery Steelhead line. Do you recommend purchasing any sink tips or sinking poly leaders for swinging flies, or will split shot work?

9' rods work well, and agree switch are too much. Split shot will work. remember to stagger your shot. Se you up here soon. Tribs are starting to show some fish after rain events but are out of the streams as the week progress with no rain in the next week or so.

JWsmalls wrote: