Easter Grass

ryguyfi

ryguyfi

Just a little tying tip as the Easter season approaches. That "holographic" Easter grass that people stuff their baskets with is a GREAT substitute for flashback material. I've been using it for a few years now and basically have a lifetime supply from one bag of the stuff. I use it for nymphs and even wrap it on a few streamer patterns. I'll put a strip on either side of a bugger too to get the "flash" of a baitfish. Cheap and easy substitute.

Ryan

I like the way you think!

theres a few on here I think smoke easter grass, nice idea.

Very good thinking! Lets elaborate a little. Does anyone else use common things like this in their flies? and how?

sandfly wrote:

Takes one to know one, sir.

:pint:

I use cat fur on nymphs, rubber gloves and rubber bands on caddis

I use strips cut from sandwich bags for scud backs.

Very good idea on the Easter grass. Will have to keep some this year. Thanks

CHRISTMAS TINSEL!!!!

CHRISTMAS TINSEL!!!!

a brown plastic grocery bag would seem to be a good choice for nymph or scud backs as well.

The silvery gray antistatic bags that are used to ship electronic parts are supposed to make great scud backs. I have a few saved up for my next scud tying session.

gfen wrote:
sandfly wrote:

Takes one to know one, sir.

:pint:

LOL...Gfen, your a pisser.

I have my gear fishing buddies save me some of their old line when they replace it. It makes a great ribbing, especially when colored on the underside with a permanent marker.

John

Buddy of mine gets condoms from planned parenthood and uses them for tying.

I bet that spermicidal lube acts like an attractant! I've thought of cat/dog hair already. I stare at the cats and think, hmmm, I wonder if this would work. I have a cream and a blue dun cat, the calico doesn't shed much.