Trout Routes App

F

fayettenamese

I recently downloaded the Trout Routes app. Does anyone else use it? 90% of the time, I fish close to home where I know the water pretty well. I have used it on a few adventure trips into Limestone Stream areas and it has been helpful. On my first trip using Trout Routes out of my home area, I forgot to download the offline maps before I arrived. Lesson learned. I'm excited to try it in WV this fall. I have really struggled to find reliable, large scale information about wild trout waters in WV. Hoping this is the solution. Just curious if anybody else uses the app??? I haven't been on this forum for a while so forgive me if there was already a thread about this.

I associate TroutRoutes with basically WoolyBugged marketing. Ive been using OnXHunt for a few years.

My brother-in-law has been using OnXHunt and he had nothing but good things to say about it. I have been using GPS Fishing Guide to PA, but they have not updated that app since Apr 3rd, 2020 and I tried to email them about their next update and the email got bounced back to me, so maybe just another of many, failed iPhone want-a-be apps. Also the reviews of the Trout Routes app since update rev 4.00 have been all over the place some good and some awfully bad.

I have an extensive GIS system that I integrate with excel spreadsheets that I've made over the years to find and navigate new waters in PA. I wanted to try Trout Routes to see if it would streamline my process. It has worked well so far. The only thing is that its classification system doesn't perfectly jive with the Class A, Class B, HQCWF, and stocked stream classifications that are put out by the state.