The LJ and Spruce

FiveWeight

FiveWeight

Fished The Gorge/Barree section of the LJ and Spruce on Sunday and Monday. Water is low, slow, cool and clear on the LJ. Caught plenty of healthy looking browns and a few bows. Two of the browns were very nice sized. Most were 12 to 16 inch range. One of the better browns might have been one I've been catching in close to the same spot for the last several years. He's not 30in but it's close. More likely 27 or so. Very, few risers. Yet I caught all on hoppers, hornet/wasp, and black foam ant patterns.

Spruce at the LJ was tough fishing. Caught browns there also but, I worked for um. The Harvey section of Spruce seems really tight and closed in with greenery this year. Yes, I know it is every year but, it just seemed more so to me on this trip. Little blue winged olives and adams dries worked well on the handful of browns I brought to hand there. In all cases size mattered little. I'd start small and would get frustrated not seeing the fly and go larger. It didn't mater. If you have a chance to get on these waters in the coming months, don't hesitate to make the trip.

I don't post here much anymore. You've got some strange posters here that talk in a cryptic language that makes no sense and yet people keep responding. Life is to short to deal with know it alls and those that think they know it all. Just thought I'd promote the two waters that I call home. Just get out there and go fishing. It's way better than talking about it.

Wish you'd have posted a pic of the 27" brown. That is an impressive fish!!

FiveWeight wrote:
He's not 30in but it's close. More likely 27 or so.

So, you're telling me you caught a 27" brown on the J?

Zak wrote:
Wish you'd have posted a pic of the 27" brown. That is an impressive fish!!