Javelin389t

Newbie here. I’m from southeast pa , green lane reservoir area. This looks to one of the best sites I’ve seen for fishing. Looks like a lot knowledge reading some of the posts. Anyway , I’ll fish for anything. but trying to get back into fly fishing. Haven’t done it much in probably 20 + years. Hoping to figure out how to do it in saltawater ( in the surf ).

Glad to have you aboard. GG

Greetings MrJ...welcome to PAFF.
Your impression is correct.
This is a GREAT group here.

Regarding Saltwater ambitions...
A VERY PRIMARY thing to keep in mind in how variable a marine environment can b.

On any given day, the conditions might look good to your eye,but there r NUMEROUS other factors at play.
This can lead to fish less days, and broken confidence.

Always keep good bluegill, bass & trout friendly water on your " pocket list"

....good news, also, as u start your Saltwater/Surf research..
VERY frequently fish ( Stripers) feed in the shallow surf...barely knee height.
So, resist your " instinct" that u have to bomb your casts w super long distance.
Keep doing your homework.
Good Luck.

Greetings MrJ...welcome to PAFF.
Your impression is correct.
This is a GREAT group here.

Regarding Saltwater ambitions...
A VERY PRIMARY thing to keep in mind in how variable a marine environment can b.

On any given day, the conditions might look good to your eye,but there r NUMEROUS other factors at play.
This can lead to fish less days, and broken confidence.

Always keep good bluegill, bass & trout friendly water on your " pocket list"

....good news, also, as u start your Saltwater/Surf research..
VERY frequently fish ( Stripers) feed in the shallow surf...barely knee height.
So, resist your " instinct" that u have to bomb your casts w super long distance.
Keep doing your homework.
Good Luck.
Thanks for the welcomes. Bruce , thanks for the tips. I know it’s not going to be easy. The travel time alone makes it a challenge.