my first "salmon fly"

sniperfreak223

sniperfreak223

This is my first attempt at a full dress salmon fly, well, kinda...it's a little piece I tied up in the style of a classic salmon fly, and a little homage to my Irish heritage. the tails are a little off, but oh well, it's a first try...

Attachments

• irishpride.jpg
    irishpride.jpg
    63 KB · Views: 10
Sniper
Very good, but this is more a giant wet fly and i bet that if i were to swing it id catch some nice rainbows and browns with it.
Next time try a Upturned salmon hook,it would make this fly pop, also try to keep the golden pheasant tippets together, if you want to try classic get some blind eye Partridge Bartleet hook go smaller than 2/0 . I really like this fly ,the hook isn't ideal though,but hell of a job for a first fly.
Tight Wraps & Tight Lines
Rick Wallace

I know the hook isn't ideal, I've just been toying around trying to teach myself traditional techniques...in fact, this was originally just a test of my ability to marry wings. If I had any salmon/steelhead hooks on hand, I'd have used one, but all I had on hand were my favorite bass bug hooks (Mustad 3366, a size 2 in this case), when I get my confidence up more, I may improve upon this pattern and maybe buy some true salmon hooks...

Also, If you don't have your floss completely smooth, your fly won't turn out good. Otherwise, nice job!

second attempt...

Attachments

• irishman.jpg
    irishman.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 1
Sniper,
very good, keep at it and youll have it licked.Try a topping of golden pheasant crest dyed orange irish flag is orange white and green i think.

Great effort on these. These kinds of wets have so many different techniques that can be tricky. Floss can be tough to lay flat even with a burnishing tool and strip wings can be a real bugger too....let alone marrying slips together. They are among my favorite types of flies and they'll really make you better at all types of flies. Well done. Keep at it.

Sniper,