Lehigh river

Rob98

Rob98

Hi I'm new to the forum but I plan on fishing the lehigh river a lot more than I do.when I get my license and go on summer vacation from school. Reason is because it's basically In my backyard . I use a switch rod but was wonder if anybody had any tips for fun days. Is there any good runs where swinging flies is successful? I'm new to the lehigh when it comes to fly fishing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Rob

Check out the map here for access points above Allentown

http://thelehighriver.org/data.html

There are a ton of great runs for swinging flies at any of those points.

Points south of that map around Allentown area has good water too.

I don't think you can go wrong. Just get out there and enjoy.

Thanks I will use this map a lot but other than swinging what other methods produce well on this river, indicater nymphing ?

A few weeks ago we rode bikes up from Glen Onoko about 4 miles and fished along the way. We picked up a few on caddis and stonefly nymphs. I personally like the Rockport area. Pay attention to the releases/water level and be careful. It is treacherous wading. A wading staff and preferably a fishing buddy are good to have.

If you are willing to walk/ride a few miles and have a day to pick apart water, have at it. The good water and fish are there. I can't really speak to wet flies as I have tied on a wet fly less than a dozen times in 20 years of fishing.

By summertime the Lehigh might be fishable.

It will be summer until you are done with comps. I'm waiting for my invitation for this years float / monster hatch or should I just talk to Phil? :-D

krayfish wrote:
It will be summer until you are done with comps. I'm waiting for my invitation for this years float / monster hatch or should I just talk to Phil? :-D