Layering

B

brush_buster

Going to fish in Alaska next October and wondering what layers you use and recommend to fight the cold under your waders. Water temperature will be in the 30s.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Being from Texas I have no experience with these conditions.

Thanks

Liner sock and heavy weight wool socks, heavy weight baselayer bottoms. Or get neoprene waders.

In cold water I prefer boot foot waders so my toes can wiggle around. I have been using neoprene waders for hunting since they are way cheaper than ones for fishing. However, they have slippery rubber soles so you need corkers or some other crampon or similar thing to get some traction in the stream. Wicking is important. As stated above liner sock with good winter sock. Modern baselayers are a great improvement over old time long underwear.

Get good waterproof, not water resistant, hat and coat. The damp can chill you fast and you need to stay dry.

Insulating/wicking layer (wool or synthetic, no cotton). Outer layers the same with wool or synthetic. Two layers socks with lighter wicking under heavier wool. Roomy boots.

A down insulated vest and a down jacket and a comfortable back pack. Y
our going to have to carry in everything and keep it on you because of the BEARS.
The Bears will be fishing next to you.

I found that fleece wader pants were great while wading in 34-35 degree water this winter. Mine were from LL Bean and have stirrups that keep them in place when putting on the waders. My only problem in really cold water was keeping my toes warm, despite liner socks & wool over those, so I think one size up on the wading boots to give your toes a bit of wiggle room is a good idea.