holding trout by the lip while they are still in the water.

S

somersetian

Caught a particularly spirited brown the other day, was prob 15-16 inches and very fat. Got it into reaching distance pretty quick in some very slow water, but every time I would touch it it would freak and slip from my hand while in the water. I didn't want to squeeze it to death so I placed my thumb in its mouth and gently held it and it just sort of bit my thumb and sat there calmly in the water while I removed the hook. Caught three more all rainbows and they all did the same, even after I would take the hook out and try to let go they would still just bite my thumb and stay there calmly for a few seconds. I wasn't lipping them like a bass, just held them in place while still in the water while I removed the hook. I can't see anything wrong with this technique, but I'm not a trout expert so what do you guys think?

I've had trout do this to me involuntarily while they are being released. It makes me laugh, as if they are somehow being spiteful of me and biting me because I caught them. To put it in perspective, as long as your finger is not in the gill and you aren't distending the jaw, a finger a trout's mouth causes no more harm than stinging them with a piece of metal and pulling them around a body of water.

Got back in a few weeks and if you catch the same fish, you'll have confirmation on my answer.

Try holding them upside down it seems to [d]stun[/d] (suffocate) :-D them for enough time to un hook them. (if you feel you must handle them or snap a pic). Simply turn them right side up while releasing or snapping the pic and they will be fine.I like to try to confine my holding trout out of the water to less than 10 seconds if possible. If it takes longer I cradle them in the water for another 30 seconds and try again.

Maurice wrote:
Try holding them upside down it seems to stun them for enough time to un hook them.

Agree. Works very well for me.