Fly Fishing Noob here

auriemma

auriemma

Hi guys,

My wife decided my brother-in-law needed a fishing partner. So they went out and got me a spinner rig. After getting my license and other gear, we went out the day after opening day. After drowning worms and soaking powerbait for hours (caught (1) 12" trout and (1) suckerfish in 6 hours), and me not leaving the rod alone, he said I am not a passive fisherman (dead sticking as he calls it) and should consider fly fishing.

So yesterday I picked up a used G.Loomis Passage kit (7'-6" #4 wt reel, reel, line, and bag) for $75. A co-worker who is an avid fly guy, said he would help me out with flies, a list of essentials, and show me the basics.

Any tips for a complete rookie from you more experienced anglers? (besides not fishing near you).

Thanks,
Joe

Browse this forum and read a lot. Come back and ask specific questions when you find something you don't understand.

Casting small poppers for bluegills might be a good way to master some casting/catching skills with the fly rod before you go after the more finicky trout.

Welcome.

Dude, You have the best excuse ever. If your wife ever gets ticked because you fish too much, it's totally her fault! Awesome.

Newb here too. I feel that without these forums and the encyclopedia of knowledge they house i would have quit fly fishing as soon as i picked up the rod. On the contrary everyday i read these forums and everyday i learn something new. Now i just have to put it all together and catch a fish. Good luck. :)

auri,
Welcome to the PAFF forums and our online community.

I would also suggest picking up a few books. There is some good information out there.
Some of the books that I have that have helped me are:

Learning from the Water ~ Rene Harrop
Lore of Trout Fishing ~ Art Lee
Matching the Hatch ~ Forget the author but good entomology reference.

I also enjoy anything by John Gierach, lighter non-technical reading but still worth the time.