Everything But Trout...

isuckatflyfishing

Hey everyone, I've lurked this site for a long time but decided to finally commit and get an account. I'm fairly new to fly fishing (been fishing for two years but have only begun to catch trout as of this spring). My area in South Central PA primarily has stocked streams most of which have heavily fished. Earlier in the spring I would be able to catch an occasional trout, but now that summer has rolled around, I'm only catching bluntnose minnows, creek chubs, and suckers on zebra midges, Adams, woolly buggers, hare's ear nymphs, and the like. My question is this: do I keep trying to find trout in these creeks, or do I cut my losses with the local water and look further for more luck? Do I switch my presentations? Use larger flies, different tippet, different approaches? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

There are a lot of factors at play here. With the creeks being low and water temperatures rising fish will be tougher to come by. Time of day fished is going to be important (early morning or early evening being best, IMO).

Additionally, we are starting to enter terrestrial season so changing to ants, green weenies, etc. might be a better path to success. You could try dry dropper.

When dry fly fishing I’m a believer in a longer leader and lighter tippet for small flies (typically 6x).

If you’re fishing the popular south central streams (Yellow Breeches comes to mind), there are still trout in there. Just remember it gets fished heavily so presentation is going to be very important. You could always try different sections of the steam and see what kind of results you get.

If water is high and dirty you could try streamer patterns fished in closer to the bank side as well.

I’d keep at it on the streams you feel comfortable on and keep working at it. The fish will come.

There are redbreast sunfish, fall fish, creek chubs, white suckers, pickerel and plenty of other fish species around you.