Erie Tribs fishing in February/March

td566

Hi everyone.
I recently posted about my afternoon fly fishing on an Erie trib last week.
I’m still new to the steelhead fishing thing, 4 trips in the last 2 years. I’m basically using my knowledge of trout fishing for where and how to fish for them, along with info from John Nagys book on flyfishing for steelhead. Last week I fished a section from the Conrail tracks downstream. Found very few fish and had no strikes or hookups when slowly drifting small nymph and egg patterns near log jams, undercut banks, and current seams.
I appreciate any and all tips and comments you may be willing to share.
Thanks. TD

Hi everyone.
I’m still new to the steelhead fishing thing, 4 trips in the last 2 years. I’m basically using my knowledge of trout fishing for where and how to fish for them, along with info from John Nagys book on flyfishing for steelhead. Last week I fished a section from the Conrail tracks downstream. Found very few fish and had no strikes or hookups when slowly drifting small nymph and egg patterns near log jams, undercut banks, and current seams.
Thanks. TD
I have only been to Erie a handful of times for steelhead, but I have had my best fishing there in March. Sparkly buggers in white/grey and other minnow patterns have been my best. I have caught way, way more fish on streamers than I ever have on nymphs/eggs up there.

I tend to slow down and try to visually locate them before I blind cast - unless the run looks really greasy then I might drift it a few times. You didn't mention what the stream conditions were like but I like small natural nymphs and subdued small eggs (creams, apricots, sparsely dressed angora patterns) when it's low and clear, and bigger and brighter as flows increase and visibility drops. Nagy's book is a great resource for tracking flows.

I will say, streamers seem to be really effective especially during late season. White/cream buggers, emerald shiner patterns and hold on.