Double-Bead Stonefly

SBecker

SBecker

I saw this pattern in the latest Fly Tyer Magazine. I decided after reading the little blog entry by George Daniel on PAFF that I should tie up some big underwater patterns. I have NO stoneflies in my nymph box and decided I absolutely needed to start tying these. This is my first attempt at this pattern and will take criticism with no problem. This did take me a good 20 minutes to tie, but I am sure most of you guys can whip them up a little faster. Blast away LOL

Hook: Dai Riki 700 streamer 4x long Size 8
Thread: Danville 6/0 black
Dubbing: Hairline Custom BlendDub Brown Stone
Rib: Small Brown D rib
Beads: 2 Tungsten Copper Finished Beads
Legs: Brown Goose Biot's
Wingcase: Turkey Tail

Attachments

• Double-Bead Stonefly Side View.jpg
    Double-Bead Stonefly Side View.jpg
    73 KB · Views: 34
  • Double Bead Stonefly Side View.jpg
    Double Bead Stonefly Side View.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 6
  • Double Bead Stonefly Top.jpg
    Double Bead Stonefly Top.jpg
    79.7 KB · Views: 6
  • Double Bead Stonefly Bottom.jpg
    Double Bead Stonefly Bottom.jpg
    73.6 KB · Views: 5
looks good to me....the next ones will go much faster.

Overall not bad at all, that dog will hunt for sure. Two things though, yellow/ golden stones are way more productive for me, and when tying in your biots for the tail build a small ball of thread/dubbing first and then tie them in one at a time that will help split them.

Also that thing needs to eat some meat and potatoes as Ed would say. It's a stone fly no need to be cheap with the dubbing.

Ok now I'm done going all Utah on ya!

Could not just edit your first post huh? LOL