Critique, Tips, Suggestions for a Newbie

F

FlyGuyGlen

At the suggestion from RC, I'm making this thread to post snaps of my flies. As a newbie, I welcome all tips, suggestions, and critiques (good and bad). I appreciate all the feedback in advance!

Let the flies begin!!

I assume most have seen my original photos in the "What are you tying today." Thread. I rounded out the first dozen American PT Nymphs, and managed to get the legs working out right. Progress can be seen in the first two photos. (L-R ,T-B)

After that, I had an extra daiichi #16. So I ventured a try at the Beadhead soft hackle PT. Seems to be a gap at the bead, but it is solidly set. Guess I could have run the peacock hurl a little closer before hackling.

Attachments

• IMG_1129.JPG
    IMG_1129.JPG
    134.4 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_1132.JPG
    IMG_1132.JPG
    131.4 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_1130.JPG
    IMG_1130.JPG
    97.1 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_1131.JPG
    IMG_1131.JPG
    95.7 KB · Views: 2
Tails are all 2 to 2 1/2 times too long. The legs on the PT's are about 2 times too long. The hackles on the soft hackles are a little long also, particularly in the third pic. You may want to use a bigger bead on that size of hook also.

Otherwise, you are on the right track.

tails and legs too long

thorax area on some are too short

general (not absolute) nymph proportions

nymph2.JPG

the hook has all of the proportiions already built in

1523FC.jpg

here is an excellent pheasant tail nymph tying tutorial

http://www.completefisher.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7517

Thanks guys.

PennKev, the bead size is the middle size (3/32) as suggested by wapsi for a #16 hook. It is however 1/64 less than the size that was suggested in the recipe. Is there a general rule for choosing a bead size? I rationalized that going bigger wasn't necessarily better for someone so small.

That graphic is perfect. Thanks Nfrechet.