A Mess On My Hands?

UncleShorty

UncleShorty

Last year I ordered a 4 wt 8-1/2 ft rod and a reel w/ 4 wt line from a "respected" manufacturer's website.

They sent a 9 ft 5 wt rod and a reel w/ backing and a WFF line.

I talked to their customer service and got the desired 4 wt rod shipped to me. "OK", I thought, "I'm set now."

Being a novice I never thought to check the line wt.

Yesterday I weighed the first 30' of line on my highly accurate digital scale. (No, I don't weigh that stuff. It's my hop scale for brewing.) The line weighed 140.1 grains.

That, according to several websites is a 5 wt line.

Can some of you "journeymen" confirm that it is a 5 wt line, given my scale reading?

Would you install a 4 wt line on the reel? What are the pros and cons of making the swap or keeping the 5 wt set-up?

As I say, I'm a novice. But I have taken some casting lessons from a certified instructor. He cast the rod and didn't comment. With the current set-up I'm good casting out to about 40 ft, which is sufficient for the streams I fish. But roll casting seems difficult, (that may be due to deficiencies in my technique. It's hard to learn to roll cat in the back yard).

Any advice would be considered and appreciated. Thanks.

You wouldn't by any chance still have the box that the line came in, would you? If so, this could be a big help and you could find the answer without needing the scale..

Even if it turns out to be a 5 wgt. line, its not such a bad thing. A lot of today's faster rods actually perform a bit better with a slightly heavy line. Or so I'm told. I don't have any of today's faster rods.

If it is a 5, it won't hurt the rod and will probably make it a bit easier to make longer casts when the occasion or need arises. Eventually, you'll want to get a 4 wgt. though, if indeed you don't have one now. That's why it would be nice if could find the box.