Wild trout, Geology, & Bedrock. More info?

steveo27

steveo27

The more I read about wild trout and predicting wild trout, the more I see geology has a lots to do with where youll find wild trout.

I would love to find some more info on how all of this works together - geology, bed rock, buffering, ect.

I'm a geologist, what exactly do you want to know?

Bedrock has a large factor on the alkalinity of a stream, which in turn has an impact on what and how much life it can support.

geology, acid rain/deposition, and trout:

http://swas.evsc.virginia.edu/publications/Current-and-Projected-Status.pdf

"1. The source of the acid: fossil fuels
The burning of fossil fuels releases sulfur and nitrogen
oxides into the atmosphere, where they are converted
to sulfuric and nitric acids. These acidic materials
may be transported long distances in the atmosphere
before they are deposited in wet or dry
form on landscapes.

2. Landscapes differ in sensitivity, based on geology.
Whether or not acidic deposition produces negative
effects on the animals living in streams and lakes
depends largely on the bedrock geology of their
catchments. In landscapes underlain by limestone
(carbonate bedrock), which provides substantial
buffering of acidity, negative effects due to acidification
are neither expected nor seen in water bodies.
Basaltic, granitic, and siliciclastic (such as sandstone)
bedrock types represent a series of decreasing
levels of buffering capacity, such that modest
amounts of acidic deposition produce conspicuous
negative effects in sandstone catchments.
Catchments composed of multiple bedrock types
naturally show intermediate degrees of sensitivity to
acidification, dependent on available local buffering
capacity. Since buffering capacity ultimately depends
on the weathering of acid-neutralizing material
from the bedrock, hard bedrock types produce
less buffering capacity for streams than soft bedrock
types. Mountains by their very nature are more resistant