Who else was out with the fly rod on Opening Day?

Letort

Letort

I cringe when I am fishing and see someone else (blue liner here). But I do enjoy the spectacle of opening day, since i have been doing that for about 50 years and it brings back memories.

Landed about a dozen on a Golden Retreiver, green squirmy or Egg pattern. Usually I am the only one I see with a fly rod, but the next angler down stream had a fly rod and he had a good day also. When I headed out, saw two 3 more fly rods, so maybe it is picking up.

Saw some March Browns, BWO, caddis & and *I think* PMD’s, though it seems early for them? Whatever it was, there was one trout busily slurping them up. Threw a bunch of stuff at him, but couldn’t get him interested.

What did you see in your area?

Edit: Upon further review, not PMD’s, but probably grannoms

Last edited:
I went out with a fly rod and saw one other fly fisherman as well. Unfortunately, all the "hot spots" looked like a grocery store checkout line of spin rods. I don't mind though, I'd rather catch less and have more enjoyment in the art of fly fishing. Still fun to get out on opening day as always.

I got a buddy that is fishing up around young woman's. He sent pics of Hendrickson spinners! That seems REALLY early. Guess you had to fish first week of January to catch the grannom 🤣

I went to Middle Creek. I caught 3 on buggers. People scattered when the rain hit. I saw 1 other guy with a fly rod. There were lots of midges and the occasional explosive rise. Saw a couple bugs but I didn't get a good look at them.

Hit Ridley Creek from 4 to 6 PM. Stood just upstream from about 15 guys and fished where the riffles entered the deeper pool. Caught 30-35 on nymphs, and let a 12 year old fish my rod / reel in a few. Those poor bait tossers were perplexed that “the guy with the fly rod is catching one every cast!” I really hate the opening day crowds in SE PA, but it WAS fun catching one nearly every cast!