Where to start

P

psummrnl

I was a lifelong spin fisherman but toward the end of last summer I decided to tackle the challenge of fly fishing. I was instantly hooked. I am anticipating the upcoming spring season. I am looking for suggestions in terms of accumulating an array of fly options. I'm not working with a large budget and the local fly shop trips add up fast! I mostly fish in York County and Spring Creek/Penns Creek/Little J near State College, PA. Any suggestions on accumulating an arsenal of effective flies affordably? Any websites that you have had success with in terms of quality of the flies for the price. Anyone on here that ties that would like to sell me some of their work? All suggestions are welcome. Thanks so much. This site is a great resource.

Hello,Welcome to PAFF!!
I'm new to FFing and here as well.I got my first flies from TheFlystop.com.Lots of places online to order from.
I believe it was Gfen who made a post awhile on the Beginner forum with a short list of must-haves.
Your right,lots of good info here!!

gfen Re: Flies #4

From Lehigh Valley
"Buy some pheasant tails and some hare's ears for nymphs, 14-18.
Buy some peacock soft hackles for wets, 14.
Buy some elk hair or CDC-and-elk caddis dries, 14-16.
Buy some Adams dry flies, regular and parachute, 12-18.
Buy some Blue Wing Olive dry flies, regular and parachute, 16-18.
Buy some Sulphur dry flies, regular and parachute, 14-16.
Buy some beetles 14-16, grasshoppers 8-10, and ants 14-16, and Royal Wulffs, 12-16.
On edit..
Buy some Wooly Buggers in olive and black for streamers, 6-8

Go out and have a good time. You've got your bases covered. You'll figure the rest out with due time.

If its graceful and slender while it flies, its a mayfly.
If its mothlike and spastic, its a caddis fly.
If its anything else, use an appropriate caddis or mayfly anyways. Its fishing, not rocket science.