When did you stop caring about catching big fish?

Acristickid

Acristickid

I’d say about 4-5 years ago.

Probably pursuing natives in PA and elsewhere has greatly contributed to this mindset.

Thought I’ve been able to immerse myself in the whole experience- the travels, the rigging, the beauty of the surroundings, the catching but to me now it’s even more so of the all encompassing aspects.

Caught my share of large fish and would prefer to catch large fish but don’t get all fussy about it.

Don’t really streamer fish much anymore. My circulation has really gone south and once my hands get wet at 50 degrees or less my hands are frozen- so steelhead fishing has much less appeal and I only go maybe once or twice a year.

I have been fishing for 30 years, and fly fishing for trout for 12. I have never gone through these stages where one prefers a certain size fish. I have always loved the variety of what is available to us in PA.

I will say I don't get too excited about catching stocked trout. That took about 2 or 3 years of really getting into flyfishing for trout to get to that point. I go to stocked streams like the loyalhanna occasionally because that is what is closest to me but I would rather catch 5 inch wild brookies than a 18 inch dull, blurred colored rainbow with shoulder pads.