Valley Creek Small Trout

salmo

salmo

I know, size doesn't matter. But when I fish Valley Creek I'm used to catching the vast majority of the brownies in sizes 6-8 inches with the occasional fish in the 10-12 inch category. In my last several trips I have noticed that much of my catch is in the under 5 inch class. I was wondering if others noticed anything similar? Does this portend that there have been good spawning seasons and that the young of the year class is up or does it mean that Valley can only sustain a larger population of small fish? I'm sure nobody on this forum will have an opinion.

Maybe because it is a C&R stream with limited biomass and depth, enough smaller fish don't get culled to allow the average size to increase. I honestly don't know, but the primary eaters of those fish seem to be herons and ospreys. Maybe their numbers are down a bit and have allowed the smaller, younger, dumber trout to proliferate more.

I'm no expert on Valley Creek, but I have been fishing it very frequently for the last two years. I would wholeheartedly agree that the majority of the fish I catch out there are on the smaller side. The tradeoff is that I now catch much higher numbers of fish than I did when I started fishing there more frequently. Not sure if that's just cracking the code on the creek or a reflection of what the fish biomass happens to be now. I'd venture a guess that we have had a few good spawning classes that have created these small fish that are voracious and fearless eaters, but there are definitely some lunkers in there, and maybe if there were more culling we could see more of them. I'm not entirely sure what the answer is though!