Upper Delaware / Hancock NY advice (float trip for my dad)

S

Slatyfork

Hi everybody,

I'm new to central PA and looking for some advice. I'd like to book a couple days floating on the Upper Delaware around Hancock NY (my dad is older and struggles to wade because of bad knees, so a float trip is better for him). What time of year is most productive there? We like to streamer fish for big browns...

Thanks,
Matt

Contact the guide you'd like to use and they will provide all the info you need. BTW, today would have been a good day and there's no guarantee that the browns will be big....and they can be caught on just about any waterway within an hour of Hancock.

If you want truly giant browns, ashokan, pepacton or cannonville lakes and live bait can get you 8-15 pound fish.

No kidding, there are fish that big in the reservoirs up there?

With sulfur’s and green drakes due any day not sure any guide would want you to tie on a streamer. You might only get a 23 incher on one of those. The Delaware river club has nice basic rooms. I wade but have seen the same guides for years there. Jeff runs the place and is very helpful.

Definitely reach out to Cross Current Guide Service. My fiancé and I had a great time fishing in September, even with lower flows.

I would contact them and tell them what you are interested in and they'll point you in the right direction.

My buddy Frank was actually fishing the lake today. Eight trout between 19 and 26 in and two small mouth between three and a half and four and a half pounds.

If you are looking to streamer fish, some guys will claim spring is the best other guys will like early summer, some guys like late summer and some guys will swear by the Fall. You have to form your own idea and opinion or take suggestions from your guide

I do like the streamer idea. However, daytime no. Night time fishing 3, yes. Long Eddy? Could be good.