two wooly buggers?

C

Canoetripper

I have never done this before so here is what I plan to do and my question.

Two wooly buggers and two different fly rods with different color combinations and switching the fly rods back and forth.

Cone heads at the end of the 7.5' leader for some weight.

My question is about the other bead head and where to tie it. Should I do this directly to the loop to loop on the fly line or should I tie it to the perfection loop on the leader, or is there a better way.

I just don't know since I have always only fished with one fly, but learned from the guide in Colorado to fish with more than one fly. I fished with three there. I want to start with just two rather than complicate something new for me.

I did once try to fish with two wooly buggers once before by tying a second fly directly from the bend in the hook but ended up foul-hooking three. I don't want to do that again.

I would tie the second fly off the bend of the hook of the first fly.

BrookieChaser wrote:
I would tie the second fly off the bend of the hook of the first fly.

Agreed, if you don't want to foul hook anything just give yourself more space between the flies. Can't imagine tieing a second leader to your fly line, that would be tangle city.

I recommend keeping things simple.

Go to the stream with one rod and just tie one Wooly Bugger to the end of the tippet.

That way you can FISH, rather than spending your time fooling around with rigging up tackle, then switching back and forth between rods, then untangling the epic mess you've created.

When fishing streamers, it's best to keep moving, covering a lot of water, running the streamer through every likely spot.

troutbert wrote:

Go to the stream with one rod and just tie one Wooly Bugger to the end of the tippet.

That way you can FISH, rather than spending your time fooling around with rigging up tackle, then switching back and forth between rods, then untangling the epic mess you've created.
/quote]