Tailing Carp

albatross

albatross

I had carp mocking me last evening by giving away their location in the shallows of a pond at the local park where I was walking with my wife. I have never targeted carp, but I feel I must respond to this challenge.

How do I go about this?

6 weight rod and 4X tippet? Can I hope to land one of these behemoths on lighter tackle?

What about flies? I see the fish tailing in shallow water and there are a good bit of weeds present. Do you just cast a small nymph near where the fish is heading? Do you impart any action to the fly?

Any help appreciated!

i have no experience fly fishing for carp but on spinning tackle neither my dad or i could land the carp on our light gear. But we were fishing around a lot of submerged timber. if there isnt a lot of structure i'd say go for it. how big are they? we were almost getting spooled on UL, most of them were around 10 lb.

I know there are carp in this pond to 30 pounds, but average might be ten pounds. Maybe the 9 weight is more appropriate?

Greg,
I've never caught one in still water with fly gear, but I have gone fishing for them in rivers and streams. Last year, I had a banner day on the Shenango tailrace using small wooly buggers (#10 and 12) hares ear nymphs and wets. I was sight fishing.... simply dead drifted the flies in the feeding lanes. I used a 9 foot six weight with 3-4x tippet. I felt under gunned on a couple of the fish! A fun, fun time.

Thanks Paul. I may try it tonight!

If it's still water then get some weight on your flies and take a lucky guess when they take it. Carp have more taste buds than we do so your reactions have to be quick. I caught my first one on an 8wt last year and felt fine with it. If there's any flow than your typical nymphs will do. If you can get lucky enough to find a mulberry bush around the stream/pond then you're in business. I found one last year ;-)

Try this pattern if there is a mulberry tree near
http://www.thesimontons.com/FlyRecipes.html