Soon to become an eastern angler

3fhobbyist

I have been flyfishing since 1982. I vacationed for several years in the Rocky Mountains before actually moving to Colorado. After a couple of years in Colorado, a family emergency warranted my moving to my home state of Texas.

I plan to make the transition to style of fishing known as tenkara after I move to New York to a town south of Buffalo, and fairly close to PA by what I have seen as I study maps.

New York or Pennsylvania aside, I plan to scale back on my fishing and tying equipment. Blasphemy- I know.

To my question. As a newbie to the eastern side of fishing I have noticed there are more different types of bugs hatching compared to the west. I noticed most are larger in size compared to the tiny stuff frequently drifting and floating on famed tailwaters of the west. I have read of Hendricksons, March Browns, Gray Foxes, Isonychias, etc. Bugs which I have not encountered to this point.,

In the general scope of fly tying a new fly tier or angler is advised to have black, brown, gray, cream, yellow and olive as a basic palate of dubbings on the tying bench.

If I were to use products from Wapsi Superfine, Hareline Rabbit Dubbing or Hareline Superfine, which colors of dubbing do you think best suit the color of the bugs in the east? Specifically, interest in mayfly and caddis which I expect are most prevalent in your area.

Specifically which color of yellow, olive or brown would you select?

Thanks for the help as I head to move east on Monday!

Welcome to the east coast. If you would like to scale back your FF gear and tying there is no problem with that but don't feel that you have too. There is lot of fishing opportunities here.

As for dubbing you nailed the colors. I am addicted to dubbing so every time I am in a fly shop I walk out with some. I gravitate to dubbing that has a little sparkle like SLF Hares ear and SLF Squirrel dub. Don't forget orange and pink make great hot spots.