Smallmouth Flies

Shawn Joseph

Shawn Joseph

For those that have experience fishing for smallmouth on the Susky, what are your top ten flies to have? I’m just getting into it this year after being mainly a trout fly fisherman on and off for the last 20 years. Can’t wait to hear everyone’s responses.

Shawn

I don’t have ten. Clouser minnows, swimming nymphs, any cray fish pattern you like, any hopper pattern, white gurglers, poppers and a zonker.

For those that have experience fishing for smallmouth on the Susky, what are your top ten flies to have? I’m just getting into it this year after being mainly a trout fly fisherman on and off for the last 20 years. Can’t wait to hear everyone’s responses.

Shawn
Clousers
Wooly Buggers
Damsel fly nymphs
Game changers
Master splinters
Gurglers
Boogle bugs
Dalberg divers
In August have white fly conparaduns
Hellgramite patterns
Murdich minow
Damsel fly dries for low spooky water summer fish

Buggers in various sizes being best streamer or tight lined nymph pattern

Then this style diver being my best top water fly
C0D0A48A 0310 4071 B6D0 E4A28E286E43
0589FA28 6243 4D1A BA68 3B197E514D38

And having some hexes in summer cant hurt
D995D4C7 2340 4919 8699 D4FB26E00E82

Clouser Crayfish, Shenk White Minnow, Black Wooly Bugger for sub-surface.

White popper for the evening surface activity.

Shawn
I grew up fishing the susky in Middletown. You don’t need 10 different flies you only need 3. Poppers when a hatch is going off and chartreuse and white clousers and a few clouser crayfish!

What size are we talking about for the clouser minnows and crayfish? Most of the small mouth I’ve caught have been on something with zonker strips or marabou. I’ve been struggling to have much confidence in a clouser, but maybe I need to size up.

I grew up fishing the susky in Middletown. You don’t need 10 different flies you only need 3. Poppers when a hatch is going off and chartreuse and white clousers and a few clouser crayfish!