Salmon Fly...again

sniperfreak223

sniperfreak223

My latest attempt at a "full dress" salmon fly, still based on the Irish flag. I like the way this one came out, but I'm still a relative newbie to these, so I'll accept some criticism.

Attachments

• irishsalmon.jpg
    irishsalmon.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 18
Nice job sniper! This one's much more complex than the ones you poster earlier and defintely shows improvement. On the plus side, your tag and ribbing are good and placed on the right spot on the hook shank. The throat (black hackle) is also good and shows uniform splaying and density. Best of all, your married wing looks great (married wings have always been tough for me).
Areas where there could be a bit of improvement: The golden pheasant tips in the tail are a bit uneven - you can fix this by using a small hair stacker to even the tips. The biggest flaw is the excessive length of the golden pheasant crests...although there's really no hard and fast rule on this. On the bright side, you got the upturned tail crest to meet nicely the downturned crest over the top of the wing (this is difficult to affect and be-devils a lot of folks when they start tying these things). You want the two tips to just barely touch each other and you seem to have nailed it. I think getting these pheasant crests right is the hardest part of salmon fly tying. If these crests extended a bit less and ended a bit closer to the hook bend (just slightly beyond it) the proportions would be closer to where you want them. If you haven't already, take some time to study photos of salmon flies tied by the masters and this will help you with placement of parts and the general proportions of pheasant crests etc.
Still, a good job.

This is a heck of a lot of progress! Those married wings are tough. The best part, for me, in learning these styles of flies, is you really have to plan ahead and pay attention to your proportions