Rod Damage

C

Colweb78

Firstly, just want to thank everyone - i dont comment or post much but read this most days and learn so much from you all.
My question is - how easily damaged are fly rods? Ive been learning on my dad-in-laws 6' for about 6 months without a scratch, and will be getting my own next month. The Orvis Encounter combo looks ideal (saving for a house and dont want to spend more than 200) but everyone i mention it to grimaces and says 'but it doesnt have a 25 year guarantee'
Considering most of the kits with guarantees charge you ~40 bucks regardless of that to have the rod fixed, should this be a big factor in my decision?

It's like insurance on your vehicle, or a concealed carry gun... it's better to have and not need, than need and not have.

All it could take is a gust of wind on a cast with split shot, or a slip on a rock.

You make a good point.....

I think I've returned three rods for replacement in my life. One was a Redington Wayfayer six piece, where the tip section just broke randomly, but was probably weakened from one of many times of being knocked against a tree or a rock. It was worth $35 to get it replaced. The other two replacements were ultralight spinning rods. In none of the cases was my fishing put to a standstill, because I have other rods to use, so if this will be your only fly rod, then the warranty might be a consideration.

And it is like an insurance policy. It's nice to have if you need it. But you don't always need insurance. It could only take a gust of wind with a split shot or a slip on a rock to break a rod, but you could also fish for years with no rod damage.