Reflecting on half a century of fishing at Boiling Springs and the Allenberry

JimKennedy

JimKennedy

Almost no one else calls it this, but the short creek flowing out of Children’s Lake in the hamlet of Boiling Springs is Boiling Springs Creek in my mind. I’ve been calling it this and fishing it since I was 10, so 49 years. It’s changed a lot since I was a kid. Way back when, it was mainly filled with brook trout, but in the autumn, big spawner trout would move in from Yellow Breeches, which attracted the attention of a lot of anglers. In those days, my dad and I would travel from Maryland with a group of guys from the old Maryland Fly Anglers of Annapolis (which morphed into Free State Fly Fishers). My dad was the only one of the group who fished for those little brook trout.

During my youth, the creek deteriorated substantially. The brush and woods in the area were cleared out for a gravel lot, and the township would move mountains of snow onto the gravel lot. The historic iron furnace was deteriorating with saplings growing out of the top, and its main use in those days was a place to take a squat.

I recall Ed Koch, author of Fishing the Midge and proprietor in those days of the Yellow Breeches Fly Shop, giving a presentation to Maryland Fly Anglers (of Annapolis) about the creek, the lake and the Breeches downstream from where the creek flows in. He talked of keeping aquariums filled with insects from the streams and watching them hatch out into his house. His wife must have been a saint.

Anyway, throughout the 1970s and early 1980s, the stream and surrounding area got progressively more degraded. Each year it seemed like Breeches floods resulted in the creeks merging just a little farther upstream.