rain jackets

N

notan641

what rain gear does everyone like? Been looking for awhile, not just because of todays rain. haha

I've had good luck with the Patagonia anorak, I don't recall the model. I think there a lot of good rain jackets out there. Most of the new offerings are breathable and very stuffable and comfortable.
If you are considering one for serious rain then I'd go with something heavier that will likely Not be breathable.

I don't have one and don't have a brand to recommend, but if money is not an object, get something in goretex.

I have an older Cabela's gortex model that has served me well. That said, I do think that Cabela's isn't the same quality since the merger with Bass Pro Shops.

I will follow this thread closely since I work outdoors for a living and know that you get what you pay for.

My worst days at work are when the temperatures are in the mid to low 30's and it is windy with the rain coming at me sideways. I am going to get wet. That is when what I wear underneath my rain gear becomes very important.

I can't emphasize that aspect of clothing enough. Never wear cotton blue jeans or sweat shirts when you know you are going to get wet.

I have had every major fishing company’s rain jacket over the last 20 years. Most I either resold or gave away. My Patagonia jacket is still around for day to day use and hiking. When it comes to fishing an real wet days Simms Pro dry has been the only one to hang in there on soggy days. Too expensive. Yes! But I work outside and recreate outside everyday so its worth it to me. It really come down to usage vs. price.

i have the orvis pro jacket and while it does great at keeping water out it also is great at keeping water in. so im wet no matter what.

i have friends that have the patagonia jacket though and they do not encounter this issue.