questions about line weights

J

joeyd71

I am just getting started out in fly fishing- so in other words, I know next to nothing about it (although I have been fishing with my spincast for a few years.)

The rod I have is Wild Water AX34-090-4. It is a 9 foot, 4 section rod with a 3 or 4 weight. The reel I have is an old hand-me-down from my dad. It is a Eagle Claw, Model EC2 Automatic Reel.

First Question: Should I keep my fly line the exact same as the rod (4) or would I be alright if I bumped it up to a 5 weight line? I am aware that being a beginner I should stick with a WF_F line.

Second Question: Since I am a beginner, should I start with a store bought tapered knotless leader? I have some 4 pound test fluorocarbon line that I used last trout season a few times....could I just use this as my leader and tippet?

Third Question: My reel- does ANYBODY know anything about it? I already emailed Eagle Claw, but they can't help me out. I'd like to know what reel weight it is, because I would like it to be matched up with my rod and fly line.

Thanks in advance and I'm sure I will be back.

joeyd71 wrote:
First Question: Should I keep my fly line the exact same as the rod (4) or would I be alright if I bumped it up to a 5 weight line? I am aware that being a beginner I should stick with a WF_F line.

Whatever makes you comfortable. Lots of fishermen under or overline their rods to get the desired performance. Try both and see what you like best.

Second Question: Since I am a beginner, should I start with a store bought tapered knotless leader? I have some 4 pound test fluorocarbon line that I used last trout season a few times....could I just use this as my leader and tippet?

I don't like knotless tapered leaders, but they were convenient when I was a beginner. I say use them. The 4lb fluoro will work fine.