Question abt Stocking Locations

Stagger_Lee

Stagger_Lee

When they link you from PFBC to google maps you get thios example

Neshaminy Creek - Section 2

When stocked how far do they travel the 1st week, (up and down) and do they travel further as they get acclimated to their new environment.

Gotta plan out my 'stupid' fish days! ;-)

There was a thread on this last year, but it was probably a side topic of the original post subject.

I was surprised at the number of posters who said they did not travel far.

I have many years experience trout fishing (w/ spinning rod) in Pennycreek off of Verree Road where they dump the trout. Within a few days after stocking, I was catching trout up to 1 mi away from the stocking point.

What I have read is that a vast majority of freshly stocked trout do not wander very far. I would have to think there are dozens of variables that effect that "rule of thumb" thinking, however.

It amazes me sometimes how trout stay in a stocked location, even weeks after they are stocked. Every year I fish a delayed harvest stream and it's easy to find the stocking points. 50 yards upstream/downstream is good holding water with very few fish.

Other streams they disperse pretty quickly. Sometimes I think they should dump the fish into marginal holding water, which may force them to relocate.

Stagger_Lee wrote:
When stocked how far do they travel the 1st week, (up and down) and do they travel further as they get acclimated to their new environment.

Most stocked trout in most PA streams will stick close to where they're stocked for some time afterwards (they might move 30 feet into the next riffle or something, but usually not far).