Poppers?!?

sniperfreak223

sniperfreak223

Why can't I ever seem to get a bass on a popper? I've been fly-fishing for bass, largemouth and smallmouth, for six years now, but I've only managed to get two on poppers. I get a lot of follows and misses, but never a real strike!!! But, I did slay 'em on a chartreuse and white floating minnow today...sorry for the rant, just getting a little peeved, as everyone loves poppers for bass, but I can't catch a thing on them.

They don't strike it, or you're busy just pulling it out of their mouths?

Like dry flies, let them take it down before you set it hard.

they boil behind them, but never take them in...

Go real early in the am when the fog is rolling off and the water looks like glass. I love those mornings and the bass seem to inhale anything on top. Believe me if they take the contraptions I tie, they will take your poppers.

I have never had much luck with true popper styles. My fish much prefer the slider style of popper.

brain wrote:
I have never had much luck with true popper styles. My fish much prefer the slider style of popper.

Same here, I can get them to hit sliders, gurglers, frogs and floating minnows, but they just won't commit to a popper.

Sniperfreak,
That's odd. Poppers have produced very well for me for bass in all sorts of waters and for both LMs and SMBs. Most of the time in the summer, esp in low light conditions, a popper is the first fly I tie on. Poppers have produced many of my biggest SMBs too. I use both "pencil" style poppers as well as the more typical cone type head with concave front. It has been my experience that the topwater bite tends to be best in summer during warm water periods and often when the water is clear. Colder, higher water levels usually convince me to tie on a streamer.
Don't give up on poppers.

Fishidiot wrote:
Sniperfreak,