Opinions Wanted

F

flybum

Hey All,

I am new to the PA forums, but live just 30 minutes over the Ohio line (NE Ohio). I am very interested in learning more about the vast resource you have in streams for trout and smallmouth.

Does anyone have any advice on some streams in the NW corner of the state that would be good for a fly angler? I will probably get an annual license as you have way more fly fishing opps for trout than we do over here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and the favor will be returned if asked.

Thanks in advance,

Flybum
www.flyfishblogger.com/flybum
www.madriveroutfitters.com

If your willing to pay the annual license few and willing to travel the ANF supports an abundant amount of wild trout streams and you can always stay in places in PA such as Potter country which have tons of wild trout and is probably about a 3 hour drive but well worth it.

You may not have to go as far as the ANF. Actually there is probably wild trout fishing of commensurate or better quality than most of the ANF at least 20 miles closer to you in NE Ohio. Look at the SE corner of Crawford County, the NE third of Venango County and Warren County still west of the river and the ANF boundary. There are streams in the Caldwell, Pine and Sugar Creek drainages and some of the direct tribs to the River in Venango and western warren Countyies that are probably equally as good as any stream in the ANF on average.

But of course, the ANF is also OK. I just don't think on average it is really any better than these areas that are probably somewhat closer to you.

No quibble about Potter County though.. It's worth the drive.

So far as smallmouth go, if you're anywhere close to Conneaut Creek in Ohio, you have a stream that is probably as good for bass as most in the area you're querying.