Old Guy - New Member

CaptainHook

CaptainHook

Howdy – I’m relatively new to fly fishing – just took it up last year – but I’ve been fishing most of my 65 years and even owned a retail tackle store at one time. Growing up in Ohio and spending many summers in Canada, my fishing focused on bass, pike, musky, and walleye. I started fly fishing back in the 80’s but then got sidetracked with life.

I’m happy to have found this site and look forward to learning from men and women who have thousands of years of collective fly fishing experience! Reading through the forum the last couple of weeks has made me painfully aware of just how little I know about this sport.

I’m in Bucks County, near Perkasie and I welcome suggestions for fishing anywhere within a couple of hours but especially on local streams. I’d love to join up with anyone fishing some local Class A streams. I’m very coachable and I think you’d find me eager to listen.

Just a quick question, what apps do you recommend for iPhone for using GPS to find fishing locations?

Thank you.

Cap,
Welcome! This is a great place and you will find that the folks around here are eager to help out.. PM me when and where youd like to go, and Ill tag along...

Do you tie flys?

Capt.hook, welcome. I am a Bucks County guy as well. You should come to the newbie jam. Look for it in the events section. Tyger and I will be there tying, as well as an entire wealth of knowledge from the rest of the group. Teaching everything from casting to tying. Good way to meet some local guys.

GenCon

Welcome aboard Capt. There are a lot of good places to fish around here. There is a Spring Event this Sat the 14th at East Bath Rod and Gun Club. The speaker will be Will Daskel and his talk will be on fishing the Beverkill and a few other streams in that area.

J55tyger88 wrote:
Cap,
Welcome! This is a great place and you will find that the folks around here are eager to help out.. PM me when and where youd like to go, and Ill tag along...