Missing Strikes

M

miahkettle

I'm new at fly fishing and besides catching one really nice rainbow I have been missing a lot of fish. I watch the fish take the fly and some how fail to hook the fish. Wondering if I'm too slow or too fast? Any help is appreaciated!

It could be either/or. It's tough to know without watching it happen. I guess the first question would be whether your gut feel is that you're too fast or too slow. Adjust from there, and if you don't see success, try it the other way around.

Do you strike instantly, or try to wait?

I usually try to wait for the fish to turn back toward the bottom before setting the hook, but it's hard.

It can be either, though I would think that some are flat out refusals, where the fish comes up and looks at the fly but drops back to the bottom without taking the fly in its mouth.

I agree with Chaz here. Fish a solid trico blitz and you will see this time and time again.

I think in general, too fast on dries is more common unless you have bad line management issues like I often do.

You nymphing or dry fly fishing?

If nymphing, make sure there is no slack in the line. It will take time but it can also help if you actually lead the nymphs throught the drift with subtly.

If dry flying, I can agree with what others claim.

One thing that has helped me hook a few more fish with dry flies is to wait for the tippet (not the fly) to move or dip down before you set the hook. This occurred to me after watching a bunch of slow motion video of fish hitting flies (and missed strikes) on the surface. No doubt the fly is in the fishes mouth when the tippet moves. Give it a try.

MK,

Welcome to the PAFF forum.