Letort-what do I NEED TO KNOW?

sipe

sipe

So after putting the archery stuff away, I'm now fully invested in getting back on the water. I'm kinda new to FF but have 2 seasons under my belt. I can cast with some proficiency. I generally nymph a tandem rig under an indicator. I would like to expand my repertoire of streams and techniques.

I'd like to fish the Letort in the next couple weeks. I've scanned some previous threads about the limestoner but I've never been there. I have fished a couple spots on the breeches and once at Big Spring (which frankly was a disaster...wading and sediment??).

What do I need to know to have a fun day at Letort? I assume scuds/sow bugs to start? Midges this time of year? Wading? Access?

Thanks for any info to get me started. If generally not ask for such HELP BEFORE JUST SCOUTING MYSELF, but I read several threads that mentioned sinkholes, sediment, posted water etc.

Thank you!!!

First thing to keep in mind when fishing the letort is to keep your expectations in-check. I think it took me 5 times out to have any luck at all. You could write a book on how to fish it (oh wait...). Here's a few tips that I've learned while fishing it.

1) move slowly and stay as far back from the stream as you can.

2) don't (try to) wade. Seriously, don't do it.

3) for every fish that you do see, there are 10 more that you cant see.

4) fish the edges of the weeds and undercut banks

5) don't be afraid to throw big flies (sculpin, streamers, etc)

6) watch your step on the banks. Be ok with the idea of falling in a hole.

7) take time to observe before you move into a new stretch.

Theres a lot more to know, but most of it just comes with fishing the stream. Just enjoy the experience, even if you get the skunk.

Sipe,