Lamson Guru or G Loomis Eastfork?

zenherper

zenherper

I am considering purchasing either a Lamson Guru 1.5 or a G Loomis Eastfork 5/6. Does anybody have a recommendation on either, and why? This will likely go on a Scott A3 9' 5wt. The price is relatively the same, so other features will determine which I choose. I like the large/wider arbor of the Guru, but prefer the look of the G Loomis. Any thoughts?

I never owned either reels you mention, but I do own a Lamson Konic and comparing the Lamson with an Orvis mid-Arbor and Battenkill barstock - I would have no issues buying a Lamson reel again.

The Guru looks like a reel nice reel for the money, sealed drag and all.

IMO you would have a hard time finding a better reel than the Guru for the money.

Guru, another reel worth looking into is the Lamson Konic. Hard to beat it for the money.

Zen I have no experience with the Loomis but I know they don't usually make junk.

As far as the Guru goes I own a 3.0 and really like the reel. Doesn't have the hard alox finish like some of the more expensive models but it's still type 2 anodized which is as good as most other reels you'll buy.

As far as it's operation, it's extremely smooth with good drag knob adjustments. I've landed steelhead, alaskan bows and sockeye on that reel without a hiccup. It is hard to beat for the price.

The konic has the same drag without being fully machined. I prefer bar stock reels thus why I went with the Guru.

Good luck.

Guru but 2.0 not 1.5.

/thread

^^ This

jdaddy wrote:
Guru but 2.0 not 1.5.

/thread

Ok, is this link broken, or am I missing something?

Why would I want the 2.0 instead of the 1.5? I would like to be able to use this on a 4 wt. sometimes with an additional spool as well. Would the 2.0 be too large for that?

zenherper wrote:
jdaddy wrote:
Guru but 2.0 not 1.5.

/thread

Ok, is this link broken, or am I missing something?