It's almost 2023, name your favorite brookie setup

JeremyW

JeremyW

So I'm relatively new to brookie fishing, now being back in VA... I got a "mid-priced" Douglas upstream 3wt 7'3" rod for fishing for brook trout. Just wondering what other people use and why they like it.

I'd say this is a medium action rod, I use it with a brookie galvan reel, and a Cortland 444 Classic Sylk Floating Fly Line.

I use a 7 1/2 ft 4 wt rod and that works pretty well. It's a Redington and is medium action.

I'm yearning for maybe an 8 ft 4 wt.

Or maybe an Orvis Far n Fine, 7 ft, 9 inch 5 wt. I've cast those several times, and they are really versatile. You can fish small streams with them, but they have enough punch to cast far on medium sized streams.

The rod that I've cast and liked the best is my friend's Loomis Trilogy 7 1/2 ft 4 wt, from the 1980s, I think. It casts smoothly on short casts, but is also a real rocket on longer casts.

I've also cast some St. Croix rods that were very nice, and not terribly high priced.

I have no interest in a fly rod that is shorter than 7 1/2 ft long, or lighter than a 4 wt, or softer action. I've cast such rods and they don't have enough punch. I want a rod that is capable of making long casts and throwing big bulky flies.

Many people say on brookie streams you don't need to make long casts. I haven't found that to be true. Maybe I'm fishing different types of streams than they are. Most of the brookie streams I fish are 15 feet wide or wider. Only rarely are they less than 10 feet wide. And these streams often open out into large pools. It's very helpful to be able to make long casts in these places.

You really do not need any special "brookie" set up. Your standard 9'5wt is not going to hinder you on a small brushy stream. In fact, it may give you some extra reach in very tight spots. Short, extra light wt rods are "fun" for a time, but they're a novelty ultimately.