Is head cement needed?

1hook

I'm very new to tying but have a few dozen flies under my belt. I haven't been real happy with the way head cement finishes some of my flies... Often times leaving like a white crust in the soft fibers... Certainly could be my application. I'm gonna get some Sally Hansen hard as nails to try because my head cement is getting thick on me.

My question for you fellas is do you always use head cement or is a whip or double wip finish enough?

Another question I have pertains to recycling flies that don't turn out right which is the case for me more often than not...what is a good method? I know that trying to unwrap/cut them is a pain. I've been thinking about setting fire to them and letting the material burn off...not sure if that's the right idea, any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

I haven't used cement in a while on my flies, unless it calls for a glossy finished head(EX> Mickey Finn) ans just use a double whip finish.
As for recycling your flies, I'm sure they aren't that bad and are fish-able. But if you don't think just use a razor and cut material off while the hook is mounted in the vise.

JH

Don't burn. It changes the temper of the hook. As for head cement, I never use it on my personal flies as I usually lose them before the thread can rot. On customer flies I use Sally Hanson Hard as Nails. The stuff works great.

I use a small dab Sally Hansons on the head of all my flies.

I usually don't bother with head cement. Just a double whip finish and and they're ready for the water.

a few tips you can use thinner in your head cement the last time i used head cement it turned white too i think thats because its old but i could be wrong even thinner couldnt stop it from turning white like festus on personal flies i just do a few whips and if i do ill use togh as nails or zap a gap just a bit on the thread before whip finishing is how i do it hope this helps