IBSP - late July

wgmiller

wgmiller

I just discovered that I’m going to be in the area of Island Beach State Park (NJ) next week and figured it would be a good spot to do some saltwater fly fishing. I have some experience with saltwater fly fishing, but not in IBSP. What can I expect to find in this area at the end of July fishing from the shore? Are the stripers well north by now? Are there any good areas to focus on with a fly rod? PM with info if you’re not comfortable sharing it publicly. I got my free NJ saltwater registry, so I’m squared away there.

Thanks in advance!

wgmiller wrote:
I just discovered that I’m going to be in the area of Island Beach State Park (NJ) next week and figured it would be a good spot to do some saltwater fly fishing. I have some experience with saltwater fly fishing, but not in IBSP. What can I expect to find in this area at the end of July fishing from the shore? Are the stripers well north by now? Are there any good areas to focus on with a fly rod? PM with info if you’re not comfortable sharing it publicly. I got my free NJ saltwater registry, so I’m squared away there.

Thanks in advance!

No stripers reported, the water temp is in the 70's.

The reports I see are for fluke and bluefish.

Here are two shops in the IBSP are that both have daily reports >

Betty & Nick's

Grumpy's

I would check with them and maybe stop in the shop before entering the Park.

Here's a map > IBSP

Blues hit anything. I use my beat-up clousers and deceivers for them, they tear up your flies. I'm not sure what flies to use for fluke.

IBSP is a nice place to fish, but avoid the swimming areas and you should be good-to-go.