good selection of Dry Flies

S

steve2u42

I am fairly new to fly fishing and i am not very good at knowing all the types of flies i will need. I am trout fishing Pennsylvania on several streams. Is it possible to have all the flies i will need for the year and cover the hatches and try to keep the assortment down to about 50? Here is a list of what i have so far. How about some feedback on what i do not need, am i duplicating a certain pattern and can delete some patterns and what i should add to my list. This is just a list of dry patterns:
Adam 12
Adam 14
Adam 16
Blue Wing Olive 14
Blue Wing Olive 16
Blue Wing Olive 18
Caenis Spinner 14
Caenis Spinner 16
Cinnamom Sedge 12
Cinnamom Sedge 14
Dark Cahill 14
Dark Cahill 16
Dark Hendrickson 12
Dark Hendrickson 14
Elk Hair Caddis 12
Elk Hair Caddis 14
Elk Hair Caddis 16
Elk Hair Caddis 18
Humpy Red 12
Humpy Red 14
Humpy Yellow 12
Humpy Yellow 14
Light Cahill 14
Light Cahill 16
Light Cahill 18
Light Hendrickson 12
Light Hendrickson 14
March Brown 12
March Brown 14
Mosquito 14
Mosquito 16
Pheasant Tail 12
Pheasant Tail 14
PMD Comparadun 14
PMD Comparadun 16
PMD Comparadun 18
Royal Coachman 12
Royal Coachman 14
Royal Coachman 16
Royal Wulff 12
Royal Wulff 14
Royal Wulff 16
Olive Sparkle Dun 14
Olive Sparkle Dun 16
Olive Sparkle Dun 18
Tan Sparkle Dun 14
Tan Sparkle Dun 16
Tan Sparkle Dun 18
Stimulator Orange 10
Stimulator Orange 12
Stimulator Yellow 10
Stimulator Yellow 12
Sulpher 14
Sulpher 16
[color=0000FF]Dry Parachute[/color]
Adams 12
Adams 14
Adams 16
Pheasant Tail 12
Pheasant Tail 14
Thanks for the feedback.Dry Flies

You'll want to carry multiples of each. I do not think that 50 will allow you to get a good variety, as well as multiples of the most important patterns.

I'd say you could easily whittle it down to 50 patterns, but you'll need at least 3-4 of some of them if you plan on fishing a lot.