fly line lubrication

mutzinbaugh

mutzinbaugh

gentleman,
I have tried mucilin and other fly line dressing to clean and re lubricate my line. after about 4 hours of fishing I find that the line needs to be re-lubed. I use the top of the line orvis floating line, around $95 and seem to replace it each year so it is not like my line is 8 years old. I am wondering if there is another secret lubricant that will bring the fly line back to its original new like feel.
thanks,

I've always used drop of dawn in warm water to wash it down and the a little armour all on a paper towel to prep it as you reel it in.

Krayfish,
Dawn will kill a fly line, if you must use ivory soap..

thanks kray, I have never tried that before. how long does a new spool of fly line last for you? also, do clean and lube your line after every outing?

sandfly wrote:
Krayfish,
Dawn will kill a fly line, if you must use ivory soap..

.....and ArmourAll will be the coupe de grace for that line.....you'll have plenty of line for tying your plants to the tamata stake, though.

Evidently, I have the the murders row of care products. LOL. Don't gauge anything off of how long my line lasts. At 20-25 days per year on stream, it lasts 2+ yrs. Once cracked, I'll use it as a nymph line for a few months before retiring it.

Rio tech dept said a diluted 303 would be fine as well

I've been wondering whether I should try to buy a nicer fly line, hoping that it would last a bit longer. If you say you're having trouble getting a year out of a $95 line, maybe I'll just stick to my ~$30—40 lines.