Fly Line Crack

P

pwk5017

Hello, I am relatively new to the fly fishing world. I bought the scientific anglers mastery gpx line in Jan-Feb of 2011 and noticed it began to crack around april/may. While I was at school I fished 3-4 times a week from Feb-1st week of May. Then, the fly rod took a break until about July when I dusted it off and got back out there fishing it 5-7 days a week(being an unemployed college grad does have some perks). Now, the line is cracked halfway through. Is this normal? Should I cut the tip off and tie a nail knot to a stout piece of mono to act as my connection to my leader, or just tie a perfection loop in the fly line? Idk, I sort of expected $70 line to hold up from 4-5 months of fishing.

Patrick

Attachments

• sa flyline.jpg
    sa flyline.jpg
    158.3 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_0422.JPG
    IMG_0422.JPG
    176.6 KB · Views: 3
Looks to me like that line got cut on something.
I wouldn't chance fishing with it.
I'd nail knot a piece of mono with a perfection loop to it

Happens. Cut it off, whip a loop onto it or nail knot something stout on the end and loop that. Regardless, cut it off.

Not cut, it just starts to crack at the end where the welded loop ends and the line begins. Fish with it if you want, you'll wick water up into the core and it won't float 'til it dries out, but the inner 20# core isn't damaged, so you don't have to worry about fish breaking off or anything.

Wow, thanks for the fast replies late at night, guys. Ok, I didnt think the core was damaged, but to be honest, I wasnt 100% either. I was wondering if I should cut and knot it tonight, but I will let it go til tomorrow or the weekend. I wanted to fish tomorrow, so it is nice to know the thing wont break. Never tied a nail knot before, so this should be entertaining...