favorite streamers?

ihrtffishing

ihrtffishing

Just wondering what some of the streamers you guys use. Only streamers in my trout box are wooly buggers and I'd like to add some more...

I'm new to streamers, but I know there are a bunch of guys on here who fish them hard, and I'm sure they'll chime in.

I made it a goal to fish streamers more this year had success recently with a Betsy. It's very basic and I've caught brookies, browns and bows on it. It's a peacock body, weighted, with a few strands of flash, and bucktail. I tie mine with a black head, but red would be cool too. It's a Harry Murray fly I think. Very productive for me so far this season. I have used white bucktail so far, but other colors would work I'm sure.

Muddlers, clousers, mickey finns, bunny leeches. Any baby trout pattern.
Comets, zonkers. Gray ghosts.

You wanna get into the really big stuff like circus peanuts and zoo cougars just google. Kelly Galloup.

I have good success with the soft hackle streamer by Jack Gartside. Olive and black is the tying I use most.

I like the Warden's Worry.

I was a very gung ho streamer fisherman before I retired to Fl...
I don't think pattern is nearly as important with streamers as other type of fly fishing.
However except for feather wing I found it better to stick with more somber colors[black,brown,olive,dark purple] rather than gaudy colors for bottom fished streamers.
subsurface ones like marabous and muddler marabous either white or black.
The important thing with streamer fishing is the right mindset .
You want to be there when the bigger fish are on the prowl for a meal,not just a snack.
That will be the time of day when the water temperature is closest to the species ideal.

ihrtffishing wrote:
Just wondering what some of the streamers you guys use. Only streamers in my trout box are wooly buggers and I'd like to add some more...

Clouser minnow. from size 18 to size 5/0. I could never use another streamer again and be happy.