Classic Flys

Baron

Baron

I know I beat this drum allot but as I've said before: I'm new at this and haven't any instincts on what to call some things or how to describe things properly. On the other hand I've been learning boatloads since joining this site. Thanks for the encouragement and patience.
For years there were Flies that I would see in magazines and in stores that impressed me simply because they are beautiful in their own right. I had no idea what they were for, how they worked or for which fish to use them on. Since becoming a FlyFisher I have identified them a Royal Wulff and Royal Coachman.
I've noticed that there is a plethora of classic looking styled flies, streamers they're called, and I'd like to know more about them. They seem to be largely associated with salmon but many look like naturals for just about any species. It would be easy to only ever fish buggers and Adams variants but then there are these really cool old flies begging.
Below are some examples from Don Bastion and others. These folks are new to me but they didn't learn to tie these overbite. I'd like to here your take on wether or not these decorative old styles are worth tying and anything else you might think of. I was thinking of buying Don's book but heck there are free tutorials on the net.

Attachments

• IMGP4801.JPG
    IMGP4801.JPG
    49.4 KB · Views: 13
  • IMGP4788.JPG
    IMGP4788.JPG
    50.7 KB · Views: 4
  • gray-ghost.jpg
    gray-ghost.jpg
    8.1 KB · Views: 3
  • 162_barnes_special_db-1024x768.jpg
    162_barnes_special_db-1024x768.jpg
    73.5 KB · Views: 3
  • eighteen.jpg
    eighteen.jpg
    4.4 KB · Views: 3
Old classic flies are like the classic cars. Still work and will always be in style.