Cheaper or just convience?

mute

mute

I got into the tying game a while back and then sold everything and went back to buying again. I probably buy $50-100 worth of flies a year depending on how many I lose or think that I just need the following year to feel successful lol.

If anything, the flies success in my book is more about how I feel about it then what the fish does. Anyhoo, I was thinking to get back into tying again. One thing I always had was a pretty crappy vice. It was one of those $30 kits that never held the hook well.

So first off, does anyone have a somewhat decent vice that is under $100? I dont need the cream of the crop as im not a professional tyer, but i dont want the vice to annoy me from tying flies.

Secondly, does anyone feel like tying is cheaper then buying flies at say a dollar a fly? Even if you stick to say only common repeatable patterns like your top beadhead nymphs and midges. Buying those materials \ variations of hooks and beads up front, to be able to produce the same 10-15 midges\nymphs for your box do you think it ultimately ends up being cheaper or actually more expensive? Obviously im sure the up front cost of all the variations of things needed (vice not even included) might be a year or two worth of flies. But after that?

mute wrote:

So first off, does anyone have a somewhat decent vice that is under $100? I dont need the cream of the crop as im not a professional tyer, but i dont want the vice to annoy me from tying flies.

Secondly, does anyone feel like tying is cheaper then buying flies at say a dollar a fly?

Thompson and Griffin make good vises for very reasonable prices.

The second question is tougher. Time is money. When this issue has come up in past discussions, the consensus has largely been that tying your own flies does not make sense financially.

I disagree.