best digital river thermometers?

P

PaScoGi

my old eyes can read my standard thermometer that i always carry. anyone got a good digital recommendation, preferably with large numbers? i saw fishpond sells one but im always skeptical & like asking recommendations before buying. thanks for any help!

I don't know about river thermometers, but all of thermometers I use come from ThermoWorks.

Tip - I still use a Fish Pond Swift regular thermometer because they are small and hassle free meaning no batteries.

The ONLY reason I carry a stream thermometer is to keep an eye on temps in the summer so I used a paint marker and put a bright yellow dot at 65 degrees so I can see in an instant if I need to worry.

Works like a charm and no numbers to read!! ;)

Here is the one I have been using for the past ten years.

That's what I've used for years, I just need to stop leaving them in the creek. :)

I'm a moron so for decades I've had a length of thin cord attached to my thermometers with a swivel and the cord is attached to the pouch where I store the thermometer. I keep the cord wrapped around the thermometer case secured with two O-rings (that's the reason for the swivel).

When I want to take a temp I unwrap the cord, lower the thermometer into the stream and I haven't left one behind since... ;)

I'm a moron so for decades I've had a length of thin cord attached to my thermometers with a swivel and the cord is attached to the pouch where I store the thermometer. I keep the cord wrapped around the thermometer case secured with two O-rings (that's the reason for the swivel).

When I want to take a temp I unwrap the cord, lower the thermometer into the stream and I haven't left one behind since... ;)
I might have to go that route as well. I tried attaching a red fletching from one of my old arrows, so I could possibly see it better when I went back to look for it. Problem was, I'd often forget the last spot I took a temp. :D