Why?

A

ahhofmeister

Hello I don't post a lot but I read all the time. I love fly fishing and would consider my self about one step up from newbie lol. I am self taught and me and my dad were up camp this week in Emporium. While my dad loves to hunt and fish he never got into fly fishing so he just watched and spin fished the last couple days. While he totally gets the why I fly fish for adult trout escpecially with drys there's one question that came up. Why walk through grown forests to catch really small bookies that you don't get a fight out of. I do it for the adventure of walking into rarely touched woods and catching historic fish. How about you guys?

They taste good. :-o

Yeah, it's not about the tug or the fight with small stream fishing. It's about the beauty of the streams and the fish that live in them. The solitude, and overall experience of a day in the woods are nice too.

Did I mention they are tasty?

Agreed, for me fishing headwater streams is about the setting not the size of the fish.

The fishing itself does have it's own challenges that keep it interesting as well.

I agree with the above posts about just enjoying a day in the woods. I know that I am never going to catch a large native brookie or a wild rainbow. I just like being out there and catching them.

I've never caught a native brookie or wild brown over 8" in PA, NC, VA, or WV. I just like being out there and enjoying the day. I've caught bigger trout in Alaska and Colorado and had a great time doing it, but I love to catch native and wild trout in the Appalachian Mountains.

The old saying, "If I have to explain, you will never understand".

Canoetripper wrote:
I agree with the above posts about just enjoying a day in the woods. I know that I am never going to catch a large native brookie or a wild rainbow.