Who had the fly rod out today?

Letort

Letort

I was on the Yellow Breeches today and saw one other person with a fly rod.

I have been using the fly rod exclusively on opening day for about 10 years now. Some years have been very successful, more so than the bait chuckers.

Not today though. Brought two to net with a wooly bugger and green worm dropper. Tail hooked one which I released and lost 3-4 others.

Spin fisherman with minnows killed it today all around me. Wasn't even close.

I did. I was on Martin's Creek in the afternoon. Brought a nice Brownie to the net. I was using a #16 BH FB Pheasant Tail. (I had been drifting a pink San Juan and a black Woolley Bugger with no action at all)

The spinning guys had pretty much cleared out (Though one was fishing off the bridge, LOL.. As some idiot on a dirt bike pierced the quiet with his 2 stroke engine for about 20 mins, round and round)

I fished that cut in the bank a couple more times, and one rose to my fluffy yellow yarn indicator! So I tied on a #12 Tan Foam Caddis, but no luck for a second strike. LOL.

Spent some time on McMichael's creek today. Got 4 to hand and missed a couple more. Frenchie and black Bugger did the trick for me.

Goofed off with the chapter at the food stands til around 4pm and then spent til dark with another guy harrassing troots on the North Branch of Muddy. What a rewarding day and a fun ending. Had the stream to ourselves. Willing and eager fish. Good water level and color.

Boom chugga lugga!

Landed 7 and lost about another six swinging buggers and wets in a few hours fishing right behind the guy with me. Fun stuff.

I did, and you can probably guess where. Yep, the Breeches in the C&R area. Caught between 6-8 and missed a few others. Caught browns, bows, and a couple brookies.