What do you do to keep your feet warm in winter wading?

A

a23fish

Now that winter is approaching and water temps falling, I confirmed (once again) my toes get cold when wading in cold water. So far, the liner socks, wool socks over those, and neoprene booties on my Simms waders are keeping the cold at bay - everywhere except my toes.

I doubt there is any magic solution for this since my fingertips get cold before anything else too. But, what do you folks do or use to minimize the effects of cold water wading?

I'm not yet ready to quit wading for the season.

I have the exact same problem, both with feet and fingers. I work outdoors for a living and invest in clothing to keep me warm and dry.

Insulated boots are more of a problem for me than they help, and I think that gloves make my hands sweat and get cold. I change my wool socks frequently and just invested in new lighter fluid hand warmers. The ones that you shake to activate are mediocre at best.

I have a new but discontinued dry suit from NRS that I am going to use for winter fly fishing. I got it at a discounted sale price, and it has the all-important relief zipper.

The hand warmers really need to perform. I drive autos all day at work so I am constantly touching cold wet metal.

I have a very elaborate hat/hood system for keeping my head and neck warm.

Hopefully, this will work for me. That said, I lived in the south for 20 years and can deal with too hot better than too cold.

I accept that I am cold weather limited and that I can live with trout or deer winning when I get too cold.

Best thing is to actually stay out of the water as much as possible. Having a toasty warm core will allow your body to not lose focus on the extremities. I know going out my toes are going to get cold so I just try to manage it so it doesn’t ruin the entire outing. There comes a point though where I give up.

First & foremost, you MUST have wading shoes with wiggle room.